Counties in indiana list?

Adams Allen Bartholomew Benton Blackford Boone Brown Carroll Cass Clark Clay Clinton Crawford Daviess Dearborn Decatur De Kalb Delaware Dubois Elkhart Fayette Floyd Source Franklin Fulton Gibson Grant Greene Hamilton Hancock Harrison Hendricks Henry Howard Huntington Jackson Jasper Jay Jefferson Jennings Johnson Knox Kosciusko La Porte Lagrange Lake Lawrence Madison Marion Marshall Martin Miami Monroe Montgomery Morgan Newton Noble Ohio Orange Owen Parke Perry Pike Porter Posey Pulaski Putnam Randolph Ripley Rush San Jose Scott Shelby Spencer Starke Steuben Sullivan Switzerland Tippecanoe Tipton Union Vanderburgh Vermillion Vigo Wabash Warren Warrick Washington Wayne Wells White Whitley. Indiana's counties are 92 in total, and each county serves as the level of local government within its borders. Indiana's largest county by area is Allen County, which covers 657 square miles, while the smallest county by area is Ohio County, which covers 86 square miles. It was April 1, 1822 and its name is due to Francis Marion, a military officer who served in the American Revolutionary War (1775-1778).

Lake County is part of northwestern Indiana and the Chicago metropolitan area, in addition to containing a mix of urban, suburban and rural areas. The county was established on February 16, 1837 and was named after Lake Michigan. Hamilton County was founded in 1823 and named after Alexander Hamilton, one of the founding fathers of the United States. It is the fourth most populous county in Indiana, with an estimated population of 338,011 and the second most populous county in central Indiana.

This county is commonly referred to as St. It is the fifth most populous county in Indiana, with a population of 271,826 (as of 2011). Joseph County was founded in 1830 and was named after the San Jose River that runs through it to Lake Michigan. It is part of the Elkhart-Goshen Metropolitan Statistical Area.

The county seat is Goshen and its largest city is Elkhart. This county is located in the central-western part of Indiana, approximately 22 miles east of the Illinois state border. Tippecanoe County is the seventh most populous county in the U.S. state of Indiana, with an estimated population of 195,732.

It was formed in 1826 and received its name from “Kethtippecanoogi”, a term from the town of Miami that means “place of relief fish”. The county seat and largest city is Lafayette. It was formed on January 7, 1818 and was named after Henry Vanderburgh, an American military officer and jurist (1760-181. Its county seat and largest city is Evansville). Porter County is also part of northwestern Indiana and the Chicago metropolitan area.

The county seat is Valparaiso, while its largest city is Portage. Hendricks County is the tenth most populous county in Indiana, with a population of 170,311 (as of 2011). Its county seat is Danville and the largest city of Plainfield. It was formed on December 20, 1823 and named after William Hendricks, Democratic-Republican member of the House of Representatives (1816-1882), third governor of Indiana (1822-1825) and anti-Jacksonian member of the United States.

The above list clearly shows Indiana's 92 counties, with the most populated being Marion County (with 964,582 inhabitants) and the least populated Ohio County (with 5,875 inhabitants). This is a list of the counties and county seats of Indiana in alphabetical order along with their population, areas and date of formation. Explore the Indiana County map, the list of all counties along with their county seats in alphabetical order and their population, areas and date of formation. They are the executive branch that has an elected governor and lieutenant governor, the legislative branch that has the General Assembly, and the judiciary that includes the Indiana Supreme Court, together with the Court of Appeals and other courts.