What is indiana's smallest county?

Indiana County government consists of two agencies, the county council and the commissioners. Many Indiana counties are named after the founding fathers of the United States and the personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and the Battle of Tippecanoe; the first leaders of the territory of Indiana and Indiana, as well as of surrounding states such as Michigan and Kentucky; in addition to tribes native American and geographical features. There are 92 counties in Indiana. Ohio County is the smallest county in Indiana by population.

Ohio County is the smallest in size. The average population of Indiana counties was 70,476. Although Indiana was organized in the United States since the Northwest Ordinance of 1787, its lands were not always available for colonization. In Indiana, the most common number associated with counties is the state's county code, which is a sequential number based on the alphabetical order of the county. The Vincennes District, Clark's Grant and an area known as The Gore in southeastern Indiana (resulting from the Treaty of Greenville 179) existed during the Northwest Territory.

Support is or has been provided by the State of Indiana and the Lilly Foundation, the Indiana Department of Workforce Development and Indiana University. Under the Indiana Constitution, no county under 400 square miles can be created, nor can the size of any smaller county be further reduced, preventing the creation of new counties. Randolph County became part of the territory of Illinois on March 1, 1809 and was eliminated from the territory of Indiana. STATS Indiana is the statistical data company of the state of Indiana, developed and maintained since 1985 by the Indiana Business Research Center of the Kelley School of Business at Indiana University.

The counties of Indiana were first formed as part of the territory of Mississippi and then of the territory of Indiana. Indiana contains some counties that no longer exist because they were discontinued, renamed, or merged with another county. St Clair County became part of the territory of Illinois on March 1, 1809 and was eliminated from the territory of Indiana. The county with the lowest population in the state of Indiana is Ohio County, which has a population of 5,844.