What is the 82 county in indiana?

INDIANA COUNTY NUMBERS AND NAMES. Indiana County government consists of two agencies, the county council and the commissioners. Many Indiana counties are named after the founding fathers of the United States and the personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and the Battle of Tippecanoe; the first leaders of the territory of Indiana and Indiana, as well as of surrounding states such as Michigan and Kentucky; in addition to tribes native American and geographical features. The oldest counties are generally located in the south, near the Ohio River, while the newer ones are in the north, in territory acquired later.

In Indiana, the most common number associated with counties is the state's county code, which is a sequential number based on the alphabetical order of the county. Although Indiana was organized in the United States since the Northwest Ordinance in 1787, its lands were not always available for colonization. Many of the last counties were formed after the acquisition and dissolution of the Miami Grand Reserve (which encompasses present-day Howard County and parts of the surrounding counties) between 1834 and 1840. The Vincennes District, Clark's Grant and an area known as The Gore in southeastern Indiana (resulting from the Treaty of Greenville 179) existed during the Northwest Territory.

Here you'll find information about city and county government, as well as news and events taking place in the area.