What is the number of counties in indiana?

Below are Indiana's 92 counties ordered by population from 1 to 92. Indiana County government consists of two agencies, the county council and the commissioners. Many Indiana counties are named after the founding fathers of the United States and the personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and the Battle of Tippecanoe; the first leaders of the territory of Indiana and Indiana, as well as of surrounding states such as Michigan and Kentucky; in addition to tribes Native American and geographical features. The state of Indiana has 92 counties. Each county is the level of local government within its borders.

The state of Indiana is divided into 92 counties. Explore the Indiana County map, the list of all counties along with their county seats in alphabetical order and their population, areas and date of formation. The most populous county in Indiana is Marion County, with 860,454 inhabitants. The smallest county in terms of area and least population is Ohio County.

There are approximately more than 600 cities in the state. Among them, the most prominent are Indianapolis, Fort Wayne, Evansville and South Bend and many more. The richest city in the state of Indiana is Zionsville. Indiana follows a constitutional democratic republican form of government.

This form of government usually has three branches on which state power rests. They are the executive branch, which has an elected governor and lieutenant governor, the legislative branch that has the General Assembly, and the judiciary, in which the Indiana Supreme Court forms an integral part, along with the Court of Appeals and other courts. Indiana counties play a vital role for local government. The county government consists of the County Council, the Board of Commissioners, and other boards.

Each county has its own circuit court. This is a list of the counties and county seats of Indiana in alphabetical order along with their population, areas and date of formation. There are a total of 92 counties in the state of Indiana. Among them, Knox County is the oldest (established in 1790), while Newton County is the youngest (established in 1885).

With a population of 903.3 million, the county is the most populous. The largest county by land area is Allen County (1,702 km) and the smallest is Ohio County (223 km). Below, see all of the Indiana counties that are listed in alphabetical order. According to the 2000 United States Census, Indiana's population was 6,045,485, the average population of Indiana's 92 counties is 65,712, with Marion County the most populous (903.39) and Ohio County (5.62) the least.

The average land area is 396 square miles (1,030 km). The largest county is Allen (657 square meters). My. Under the Indiana Constitution, no county smaller than 400 square miles (1,000 km) can be created, nor can any county smaller than this one be further reduced in size.

Alabama · Alaska · Arizona · Arkansas · California · Colorado · Connecticut · Delaware · District of Columbia · Florida · Georgia · Hawaii · Idaho · Illinois · Indiana · Iowa · Kansas · Kentucky · Louisiana · Maine · Maryland · Massachusetts · Michigan · Minnesota · Mississippi · Missouri · Montana · Nebraska · Nevada · New Hampshire · New Jersey · New Mexico · New York · North Carolina · North Dakota · Ohio · Oklahoma · Oregon · Pennsylvania · Rhode Island · South Carolina · South Dakota · Tennessee · Texas · Utah · Vermont · Virginia · Washington · West Virginia · Wisconsin · Wyoming. Ballotpedia provides comprehensive coverage of elections in the 100 largest cities in the United States by population and the largest counties that overlap those cities. This covers all municipal, county, judicial, school district and special district offices that appear on the ballot within those cities. Marion County operates under a consolidated government with Indianapolis.

By default, the following table shows only 25 counties at a time. To change the number of counties shown, use the drop-down menu above the upper left corner of the table. You can also use the search bar above the upper right corner of the table to search for a specific county. Ballotpedia didn't cover any local elections in Indiana that year.

There are no local government units in Indiana that offer an initiative process. The oldest counties are generally located in the south, near the Ohio River, while the newer ones are in the north, in territory acquired later. In Indiana, the most common number associated with counties is the state's county code, which is a sequential number based on the alphabetical order of the county. Many of the last counties were formed after the acquisition and dissolution of the Miami Grand Reserve (which encompasses present-day Howard County and parts of the surrounding counties) between 1834 and 1840.

. .